We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

Local elections 2022 - your chance to stand

January 13, 2022 2:47 PM


The next local elections take place on Thursday 5 May 2022.

In Epping Forest the following council seats will be up for election. If you are interested in standing for the Liberal Democrats please contact

You can find more about what being a councillor involves on the Be A Councillor website.

Epping Forest District Council

The District Council is responsible for planning and development, housing and homelessness, environmental health, leisure including sports centres and swimming pools, and some grounds maintenance.

Seats up in 2022 are:

  1. Buckhurst Hill East
  2. Buckhurst Hill West
  3. Chigwell Village
  4. Chipping Ongar, Greensted and Marden Ash - Lib Dems were second to the Conservatives last time
  5. Epping Hemnall - currently held by Lib Dem Janet Whitehouse
  6. Epping Lindsey & Thornwood Common - Lib Dems were second to the Conservatives last time
  7. Grange Hill
  8. Loughton Alderton
  9. Loughton Broadway
  10. Loughton Fairmead
  11. Loughton Forest
  12. Loughton Roding
  13. Loughton St Johns
  14. Loughton St Marys
  15. Lower Nazeing
  16. North Weald Bassett
  17. Theydon Bois - Lib Dems were second to the Conservatives last time
  18. Waktham Abbey Paternoster
  19. Waltham Abbey Honey Lane

Parish and Town Council

Parish and town councils provide a variety of local services such as playgrounds, allotments and village halls.

There are not scheduled parish council elections in May 2022 but from time to time parish and town councils advertise vacancies.