Lib Dems have full team for county council elections

April 19, 2017 11:29 PM

The Liberal Democrats are contesting all seven county council seats in the Epping Forest district. The election on Thursday 4 May is an opportunity for local residents to make Essex County Council less remote and more responsive to local residents' needs.

The Liberal Democrat candidates are:

  • Buckhurst Hill and Loughton South - Joseph Barkham
  • Chigwell and Loughton Broadway - Joanne Alexander-Sefre
  • Epping and Theydon Bois - Councillor Jon Whitehouse
  • Loughton Central - Hayden Rissbrook
  • North Weald and Nazeing - Arnold Verrall
  • Ongar Rural - Councillor Brian Surtees
  • Waltham Abbey - Tim Vaughan

Jon Whitehouse, who is defending the Epping and Theydon Bois seat he won four years ago, said:

"I have spent the last four years taking up local residents' concerns and speaking up for Epping, Theydon Bois, Coopersale and Thornwood Common on Essex County Council.

"I have opposed the Conservatives' disproportionate allocation of new housing on Green Belt land around Epping and Theydon Bois. I am campaigning to protect and improve public
services and infrastructure which are under so much pressure. With your support on Thursday 4 May I can continue to be a strong voice for our area and get things done on the issues that matter most to local people."